About Education Society

About Education Society

Dayanand Education Society, Latur was established in May 1961. Latur, then, was a Taluka place in Osmanabad District. Aspiring students from poor and middle class families could not get any facility for higher education, except for going to Mumbai, Pune or Hyderabad. For a candidate from economically backward family leaving Latur for pursuing higher education was rather dream like. So to make the flow of education reach to the grass root level, to the sons and daughters of farmers and workers community, renowned personalities and business persons like Late. Manikraoji Sonavane, Late. Raja Narayanlalji Lahoti, Late. Chandrashekherdada Bajpai, Late. Madanlalji Biyani, Shri. Shantibhai Shah, Late. Nathmalji Innani, Late. Ranaba Mandade, Late. Ramgopalji Rathi, Late. Tamanappa Utage, Late. Keshavraoji Sonavane instituted Dayanand Education Society in May 1961. In June 1961, under the aegis of Dayanand Education Society Arts, Commerce and Science colleges started functioning. The foundation stone was laid at the auspicious hands of the then Governor of Maharashtra Hon. Shriprakash.
The Society accepted “ aa no bhadra kratavo yantu vishwatha” (let knowledge from all corners of the Universe come to us) the 14th Mantra from 25th chapter of Yajurveda as its Mission Statement. What was a small plant in yesterdays; today it has grown in to a huge tree. Late. Manikraoji Sonavane was the first President and Late. Chandrashekhardada Bajpai was the Secretary. Today Hon. Laxmiramanji Lahoti presides over the Society and Hon. Rameshji Biyani is the Secretary.
“Latur Pattern” in academic field has come into existence by the persistent efforts put in by all the colleges of this Education Society. In June 1961 Arts, Commerce and Science Colleges were together which afterwards were made independent for academic and administrative reasons. Dayanand Science was given independent recognition in 1967 so were Arts and Commerce in 1970. In the same year i.e. 1971 Dayanand Law College was established. In 2009 Dayanand College of Pharmacy was established. Year 2017 marked establishment of Dayanand Institute of pharmacy while Year 2018 marked establishment of Dayanand College of Architecture. Dayanand Education Society, Latur owns 22 acre and 20 gunthas of land. Each college has a separate Principal, Office and administrative system. Each college has a huge independent building on the campus of Dayanand Education Society. The total strength of all five colleges in 2012 goes up to 9720 students pursuing their U.G. and P.G. degree in diverse streams. Research facilities are also available in all the colleges.

Sister Institutes

Dayanand Science College
Dayanand College of Commerce
Dayanand College of Art's
Dayanand College of Architecture
Dayanand College of Law
Dayanand Institute of Pharmacy
Dayanand college of Interior Designing

Google Map


Dayanand College of Pharmacy, Latur,
Barshi road Latur
Phone: 02382-223199,223299
E-mail Id:dayanandpharmacy@rediffmail.com